Guides › Form 8949 Boxes G to L for Digital Assets
Form 8949 Boxes G to L for Digital Assets
This site provides general information, not tax, legal or financial advice. Consult a qualified tax professional. Last verified against IRS pages: October 17, 2026. Examples use made-up numbers for illustration only. Expected marks our own reading, not a published rule.
Short answer: The Form 8949 instructions (2025) say digital asset transactions should not be reported with box C or F. Use boxes G, H or I for short-term transactions and J, K or L for long-term ones, chosen by whether you received a Form 1099-B or 1099-DA and whether basis was reported to the IRS.
The six boxes
| Term | Basis reported to the IRS | Basis not reported | No 1099-B or 1099-DA |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short term (Part I) | G | H | I |
| Long term (Part II) | J | K | L |
What each box means (from the instructions)
- Box G or J: transactions reported on a Form 1099-B or 1099-DA with an amount shown for cost or basis, unless the statement indicates that amount was not reported to the IRS.
- Box H or K: transactions reported on a 1099-B or 1099-DA without a basis amount, or showing that basis was not reported to the IRS. The instructions give "box 2 on Form 1099-DA isn't checked" as an example of basis not reported.
- Box I or L: transactions for which you received no 1099-B or 1099-DA. The instructions say not to use box C or F for digital assets; use box I or L.
Use one box per Part and a separate Part for each type. The "Applicable checkbox on Form 8949" box near the top of the 1099-DA may help you decide.
Shortcut
If basis was reported to the IRS and you need no adjustments, the instructions say you can report summary information directly on Schedule D instead of listing each transaction (Exception 1).
Related fixes
Enter digital asset transaction costs not reflected on the form as a negative number in column (g), as the instructions describe. For how a 1099-DA fits with Form 8949 in general, see our 1099-DA vs 8949 guide; this page covers only the boxes.
Fictional example
You sold coins held 14 months; the 1099-DA shows box 2 checked and a basis. Box J. You also sold units on a foreign platform that sent no form, held 5 months: box I. A sale with a form that shows proceeds but no basis, held 2 years: box K.
Caution
These are the 2025 instructions. Read the instructions for the year you file.
FAQ
Can I still use box C for crypto? The instructions say no.
What if there is no form? Box I or L; see no 1099-DA.
What we could not verify
- The 2026 Form 8949 and its instructions (the 2025 instructions were read).
- How noncovered units are shown on your particular 1099-DA.
- Exact box-by-box wording on the 1099-DA itself (not read in this guide).
- Re-check IRS.gov before acting; pages, forms and instructions change.
Sources (official)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 8949 (2025): https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i8949 (read October 17, 2026; the 2026 instructions had not been read)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 1099-DA (2026): https://www.irs.gov/instructions/i1099da (read October 17, 2026)
Not tax advice. Examples use made-up figures. Nothing here has been reviewed by a tax professional. We may earn commissions from affiliate links where marked; see the disclosure.